review, skin care

Mask Sheet Madness: TFS Real Nature in Lotus

I bought this at The Face Shop, UP Town Center for P65. They were on sale (buy 5, get 5 free) when I got it, but that’s the SRP.

Claims
(from their website)

The mask sheet drenched in a smooth serum with oil with the pure energy of Lotus Flower moisturizes and gives tired, rough skin a boost of radiance.
Formula is without added parabens.

Ingredients
(from their website)

Water, Dipriopylene Glycol, Glycerin, Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Extract. Alcohol Denat Sorbitol, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Panthenol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Betaine, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Allantoin, Dipotassium Glycyrrihizate, Xanthan Gum, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Potassium Hydroxide, Fragrance

See the CosDNA analysis here.

lotus.png

My experience

The packaging is looks premium and classy so I was really excited to open this first mask sheet.

Upon opening, I took a whiff of the sheet’s scent: smells like perfume, and not in a good way. I like my mask sheets with no fragrance at all (less chemicals involved!), or just a hint of freshness in the scent; nothing strong.

I was hesitant to put it on my face. Holding it close to my nose and having to put it near my nose where I can breathe in the scent for 20 minutes was something I was unsure of. The few seconds I took to fit the mask on my face was uncomfortable because of the strong scent. It felt like I was sticking my nose in the opening of a bottle of strong perfume. You get used to it after a while, but it really isn’t a pleasant sensation.

I was excited to take the mask off. Not a good sign.

It doesn’t feel very saturated with essence, like it was drying out. I can feel the essence on my face, all right; but it didn’t feel like the mask was soaked enough. Even in the pack, there were only tiny droplets of excess essence left, and I’ve tried face masks before where you get a good teaspoonful of essence left in the pack. After just ten minutes, the mask feels a bit dryer than how a wet wipe feels. I doubted it would last a full 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes, the mask felt close to dry. I squeezed out the remaining essence and slathered it on my face. It leaves a slightly sticky/tacky feel on the skin which is normal. I don’t feel like it did a great job hydrating my skin though. It made my skin softer, but I could still feel a little tightness to it when I smile or move my face around.

Final verdict, tl;dr

It’s a pass.

It’s an okay mask sheet, but not worth the price. The fragrance is too strong and can be uncomfortable; it also has a tinge of alcohol scent so perhaps they were trying to mask that. It doesn’t really hydrate though it claims to be hydrating, and the sheet isn’t saturated with essence.

This kind of watered down my excitement for the other TFS mask sheets, but I’m hoping this is an exception. Maybe the other mask sheets will fare better!

Note
Keep in mind that skincare &  hygiene are very personal. What may work for me may not work for you, and vice versa – even if we have the same skin/hair type!

*featured image from enrichingurskin.com

What do you think?

