hair, review

Review: Human Nature Moisturizing Shampoo & Conditioner in Lush Vanilla

I bought these at a Human Nature store, but Watsons and grocery stores carry Human Nature products. You can order them online as well at BeautyMNL or at their own website. The 200ml shampoo and 200ml conditioner cost me around Php150 each.

Curly hair needs

Curly haired girls (and boys!) are advised to stay away from sulfates in hair products as these chemicals are very stripping and harsh for the curls. Conditioners that contain silicone aren’t any good either; silicone coats the hair instead of infusing it with moisture. This means that the softness and shine are just on the surface, and are not true indicators that your conditioner has finally made your hair healthy. Our bouncy waves need moisture and extra TLC to keep them healthy, shiny, and happy.

HN Moisturizing Shampoo & Conditioner

I bought the Human Nature Moisturizing  Shampoo  and Conditioner because the lady at the Human Nature shop said they contain all natural ingredients; sulfate-free shampoo and silicone-free conditioner meant good stuff for curly hair!

The Human Nature shampoo and conditioner have the regular texture of a regular shampoo and conditioner. The shampoo is more on the creamy side, rather than watery, which I assume is due to its supposed moisturizing properties.

I’m not a huge fan of the vanilla fragrance of the shampoo and conditioner. Nothing too bad; it’s just not the type of vanilla scent that smells light and refreshing.

shampoo
Shampoo

Ingredients

From the Human Nature website:

Shampoo
aqua, sodium cocoyl isethionate (coconut derived), decyl glucoside (coconut derived), sodium lactate (sugarcane derived), sodium gluconate (sugarcane derived), Persea gratissima (avocado) oil, olus (vegetable) oil, Cocos nucifera (coconut) nectar, dicaprylyl ether (vegetable derived), guar gum, levulinic acid (rice or corn derived), xanthan gum, Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, fragrance (natural), phytic acid (rice derived), citric acid, anisic acid (anise seed derived)

Conditioner
aqua (water), cetearyl alcohol (vegetable-derived), cetrimonium chloride (vegetable-derived), Persea gratissima (avocado) oil, olus (vegetable) oil, Helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, Glycine soja (soybean) oil, Cocos nucifera (virgin coconut) oil, capryloyl glycerin/sebacic acid copolymer (vegetable-derived), diheptyl succinate (vegetable-derived), Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, hydroxypropyltrimonium honey, levulinic acid (rice or corn-derived), fragrance (all-natural), anisic acid (anise seed-derived)

I didn’t like them 

I had high hopes for the two products, happily thinking about how I am supporting a local brand that’s eco friendly and cruelty free, and at the same time taking care of my curls with the natural ingredients they need.

The walnut-sized amount of shampoo didn’t lather up so much, which is no problem for me since chemicals that make liquids foam are said to be stripping – except that this shampoo dried up my hair enough to make it feel like I had strips of sandpaper for hair! It was worse than that time I had to use soap for my hair. Have you ever tried using soap on your hair? Don’t. It’s so so drying. I couldn’t understand why this shampoo made my strands so extremely dry,despite it’s natural ingredients!  To add to that horror, my scalp did not feel clean at all. It felt as if my scalp still had dirt, though the strands had been dried to death.

I immediately slopped on the conditioner, hoping I could save my parched hair from dryness. I worked it through my strands, massaging it, and leaving it on for around three minutes (it was probably longer since I sang through several songs on iTunes, haha!). In the meantime, I continued on with my shower rituals.

cond
Conditioner

The conditioner did moisturize my hair, but it still felt dry. It was an okay kind of after-shower hair. It wasn’t the kind of soft that made me want to run my fingers through my hair, feeling how smoothly it glides. I used to get that feeling a little bit with Dove Oxygen Repair shampoo and conditioner, but I decided to try hair products that could be better for my curly hair’s needs.

I have given the Lush Vanilla second and third chances, but the results were still the same. I have stopped using them since and am now trying an Innisfree shampoo and Pantene conditioner (look out for the review).

Tl;dr

The shampoo is too drying for my hair and doesn’t make my scalp feel clean. The conditioner is okay. I tried it twice after the initial experience, but with same drying results so I won’t be using these two again.

Note
Keep in mind that skincare &  hygiene are very personal. What may work for me may not work for you, and vice versa – even if we have the same skin/hair type!

What do you think?

