review, skin care

Mask Sheet Madness: Tony Moly I’m Real in Avocado

I was really really REALLY excited to try the Tony Moly mask sheets because they are just so goshdarn cute!!!!! I had half a mind to not use them at all because I just wanted to look at the adorable bundle that I had.

I got my TM mask sheets at Shopee for Php55 each though at the TM boutique, they retail for Php78. They’re not available at Althea, but you can get them at StyleKorean (they even offer the 11-type bundle for a good price). Take note that StyleKorean sells in US Dollars and that shipping fee depends on the weight of your purchase.

Claims
(from StyleKorean)

Avocado extract gives skin nutrition for silky skin. The 3-layer pulp sheet mask provides deep moisture and the oil type of essence makes skin soft. (It’s actually described as “milky-liquid” and it is actually milky!)

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 10.55.51 PM
from StyleKorean

Ingredients
(from Ulta Beauty; note that the arrangement of ingredients may be different from the Korean arrangement since this is an American source)

Purified water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Mineral Oil, Macadamia Nut Oil, Allantoin, Panthenol, Polysorbate 80, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Chlorphenesin, Carbomer, Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Tromethamine, Avocado Fruit Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Propanediol, Perfume, Apricot Fruit Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum Fruit Extract, Disodium EDTA, Retinol Palmitate, Thiamine HCl, Rivoflavin, Niacin, Carnitine HCl, Pantothenic Acid, Biotin, Folic Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Tocopherol

See the CosDNA analysis here.

Review

It’s super soaked in essence!!! It drips a little when you take it out, but nothing too crazy. It just really is packed with essence which is really good. It smells of really nice soap; not overly fragrant. It’s a slight scent that smells fresh, clean, and nothing overpowering. I smell like I just stepped out from a nice bath and I like it.

tm avocado.png
HOW ADORABLE IS THIS???

The mask itself fits nicely on my small face, and the slits were just right in order to get a good fit. The sheet is a little thick (like bond paper) but it doesn’t feel heavy, nor does it fall off from my face. It doesn’t move and just stays put on where I placed it.

After 30 minutes, I took off the mask sheet. I let it sit 10 minutes longer than usual because it didn’t feel dry yet. I had to spread the essence around my face and pat it in after taking the sheet off since it really has a LOT of essence in it. It doesn’t feel tacky after the essence gets absorbed into the skin. I was able to squeeze out a spoonful (or more) of leftover essence which I slathered on my neck, shoulders, arms, elbows, hands, and even on my knees! Yeah, it was that much leftover of milky white essence.

There’s so much left that I think you can pop it in the fridge for a second use if you feel like the sheet is still clean enough for reuse (which it should be because your face must be clean…). If you don’t find it gross, squeeze out the excess into the packaging so you don’t have to keep the used mask. You can soak cotton pads/sheets in the leftover essence as a diy mask sheet, or use a clean mask sheet which you can buy at Mumuso or Miniso.

My skin felt hydrated and it looked bright. Of course there isn’t a way for me to tell if it did provide nutrition to my skin by just looking at it, but I liked what the mask had done.

Final verdict, tl;dr

I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT.  It was hydrating and my skin looked bright and healthy. There’s so much essence in this sheet, that I spread it to my neck, arms, hands, and even my knees! If you don’t want to do that, it’s enough leftover to save for a second use (it’s up to you how you will reuse it). I’m definitely repurchasing this!

Note
Keep in mind that skincare &  hygiene are very personal. What may work for me may not work for you, and vice versa – even if we have the same skin/hair type!

2 thoughts on “Mask Sheet Madness: Tony Moly I’m Real in Avocado”

What do you think?

