makeup, review, skin care

Review: Banila Co Clean It Zero

Let’s get it straight: I wanted the Purity version of the Clean It Zero but got the Classic because the Shopee seller advertised it as the Purity version. And then she only messaged me AFTER I got the package when I told her that I received the wrong type, saying that she doesn’t actually have the Purity one. She said she saw the discrepancy in the order even before shipping the package, and she didn’t reply when I asked her why she didn’t tell me immediately. Anyway, I went with it instead of returning the product since I got it for a cheaper price at Php750.

Buyer tip: ask the seller to send you a photo of the product before s/he ships it to you.

I’m not mad about it; but I am very very very disappointed. Moving on.

There’s a Banila Co boutique at SM North (main mall, 2nd floor I think) and it retails for Php890. You can also buy it online at BeautyMNL, Shopee, and Lazada.

Claims
(from their website)

Zero run-down formula, zero residue, zero dryness, all-in-one cleanser, pore care, hygienic use

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 9.00.03 PM.png
 Claims, taken from their website

Ingredients
(from their website)

Mineral Oil, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, PEG -10Isostearate, Polyethylene, Butylene Glycol, Water, Rubus Suavissimus (Raspberry) Leaf Extract, Bambusa Arundinacea Stem Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Viscum Album, (Mistletoe) Leaf Extract, Angelica Polymorpha Sinensis Root Extract, Carica Papaya, (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Malpighia Glabra (Acerola) Fruit Extract, Epilobium, Angustifolium Leaf Extract, BHT, Butylparaben, CI 16255, CI 15985, Fragrance

See the CosDNA analysis here.

What I need to cleanse

I don’t wear heavy makeup; and when I do wear makeup, it’s usually a light foundation or BB cushion, brow pencil, mascara, blush, and a little highlight. Sometimes I wear eyeliner and lipstick too. There isn’t much to take off, but it’s important to get every single gunk off your face before you sleep to keep skin healthy and happy.

I’ve only been using a generic makeup remover oil which I don’t feel has been doing it’s job well, tbh. After I wash my face, I still see traces of mascara and eyeliner. Sometimes, my toner-soaked-cotton pad still turns beige from leftover foundation. Micellar water doesn’t do well for me, either (I’ll write about that next time).

How to use

Use the spatula included to take a reasonable amount of balm (around an almond size) and massage it onto dry skin. Use circular motions against the grain of your skin (inward motion, towards the center of the face). Wash off with water.

banila co 2.png

Review

I got this tub of solid cleansing balm and I wondered if it’s too big or too little. I haven’t gauged yet how much I could get out of from 100ml because in terms of liquid volume, it sounds like such a small amount of product. But the solid 100ml looks like it’s a lot. I have yet to see how long this would last me, and I assume it’ll last long since I won’t be using it everyday. Again, I don’t wear makeup daily.

I like how I only have to use a small amount. The spatula it comes with gives you an idea of how much you need to use, and that’s actually enough to melt off the makeup on your entire face. Maybe if you wear heavy makeup, you’d need a little more.

The balm turns into liquid oil when you massage it onto your face, but not the runny type that would drip down your neck and arms. I love it! I love how it doesn’t feel greasy at all! And it’s so nice to massage your face and see foundation separating from your skin.

Here’s a short video from TesterKorea showing the balm in action:

I also tried it on my eyes to remove mascara and eyeliner and it works great! It kind of sticks to the eyelashes though, so vision can get blurry. If you’re sensitive, best to use a makeup remover dedicated for eyes.

It cleans really well, takes off ALL of my makeup, is easy to wash off, and doesn’t leave that icky “film” feeling on the face (like if you didn’t wash off the oil enough).

I FEEL SUPER CLEAN AFTER DOUBLE CLEANSING. As in, I have never felt this squeaky clean before. Not even after washing my face on days when I didn’t wear makeup. It doesn’t dry the skin either. You know that tight feeling on your face? None of that, my dear! My skin is so bright and clean and not dry. I’m so happy.

It is expensive, but I think it’s worth the price since I won’t be using it a lot; hence it’ll last longer for me.

banila co 1

Tl;dr

GREAT STUFF, 10/10. Cleans well, not the runny/oily/drips-everywhere type, no icky feeling after washing off. You might want to use a dedicated eye makeup remover for your eyes. Pricey, but I think it’s worth the try and worth the buy.

Note
Keep in mind that skincare &  hygiene are very personal. What may work for me may not work for you, and vice versa – even if we have the same skin/hair type!

2 thoughts on “Review: Banila Co Clean It Zero”

What do you think?

