review, skin care

Mask Sheet Madness: Missha Pure Cell Source in Honey

Honey is one of the popular ingredients or themes in skin care, aside from snail. Honey is said to be anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial, hydrating, and contains a lot of antioxidants. There are different kinds of honey though, and each kind has its own beneficial properties. Its powers would also also depend on the content percentage in the product.

I was pretty excited to try out this mask, since I got it for cheap over at Shopee. I found a seller who has the Missha Pure Cell mask sheets for Php35 each. What a steal! You can also get Missha mask sheets from StyleKorean. Just take note that the site has a delivery fee and the fee depends on the weight of your order.

Claims
(from their site)

Gives hydration and radiance to skin, restores, and soothes the skin

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.19.02 AM.png
other info about the mask

 

Ingredients
(from their site)

Water (Aqua), Isopropyl Palmitate, Glycerin, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Polysorbate 60, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Allantoin, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Caprylyl Glycol, Saccharomyces/Honey Ferment Filtrate, Chlorphenesin, Hydrolyzed Chitosan, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Butylene Glycol, Fragrance (Parfum), Hexadimethrine Chloride, Phytic Acid, 1,2-Hexanediol, Ethylhexylglycerin

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 12.19.27 AM
key ingredients

See the CosDNA analysis here.

Review

This smells like Jelly Ace!!! It’s not bothersome, but there’s a slightly strong fragrance that doesn’t go away.

The package has around 1/4 of a teaspoon left of milky white essence which I applied on my arms and elbows. The mask itself is wet with essence; after spreading out the mask on my face, some essence dripped down on my neck — which is really nice!

The mask doesn’t have slits on the side which made it a bit difficult to fit around my face, but it wasn’t a big problem. It didn’t move nor slide around even when I decided to stand up and sweep the floor while waiting… so that my room can be beautiful too, while I pamper myself!

missha honey.png
nothing eye-catching

After 10 minutes, the top part of the mask (forehead to upper cheeks) felt dry to the touch while the lower cheek-to-chin area was still wet. This makes me wonder if the essence is dripping downward or if the upper part of my face is just really thirsty and absorbed the essence faster than my chin.

My skin felt hydrated and plump, but there was a slight tackiness on the skin that was left. The hydration also felt like it didn’t penetrate through my skin, like it was only on top. It wasn’t a bad job, but nothing really good. It does leave a nice glow that doesn’t look oily.

Final verdict, tl;dr

It’s okay.

I’m not a fan of the Jelly Ace smell and I don’t feel like the hydration was enough. It leaves a nice, natural glow on my skin which I like; however it leaves a tacky feeling. I won’t be purchasing this product again, but I don’t think it was a complete waste of money. Anyway, it was a cheap mask.

Note
Keep in mind that skincare &  hygiene are very personal. What may work for me may not work for you, and vice versa – even if we have the same skin/hair type!

What do you think?

